Hire an Attorney for Reckless Driving Charges Today
Posted on by admin
In the State of California, reckless driving is defined as driving on a road, freeway, or parking lot in a willful or without regard for the safety of another person or their property. This means that this can be charged even on private property. Ultimately, reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor charge that is punishable by five days and up to 90 days in jail as well as fines of $500-$5,000. The driver also faces the chance of having their license suspended and their vehicle impounded for 30 days as well. During this time, it’s important to hire a criminal defense attorney such as David Leicht with years of experience representing individuals with cases like yours.
Understanding Reckless Driving Laws in California
If there has been an injury to anyone other than the driver, then the charge is punishable by 30 days up to six months in county jails with fines from $1,000 to $10,000 and up to a year of driver license’s suspension. Second or third convictions of reckless driving will carry the same penalties as those that result in bodily injury.
Some instances where reckless driving might be charged include:
Excessive speed considered dangerous
Placing others at danger by running stop signs and/or red lights.
Failing to yield the right of way
Driving under the influence or while intoxicated
Racing other vehicles
Passing over a double yellow line
Passing a stopped school bus
Evading law enforcement
Call to Speak to a Traffic Attorney Today
If you or a loved one are facing a reckless driving offense, don’t face it alone. Call David Leicht, a professional California traffic attorney, who has years of experience and knowledgeable of all traffic laws. Avoid having this misdemeanor traffic offense on your record for life. To schedule an important phone consultation with him, call his legal office at 760-256-3104. He represents clients in Barstow, Hesperia, Adelanto, Wrightwood, Adelanto, Needles, and Fort Irwin.