Understanding Ignition Interlock Devices Laws in California
Posted on by admin
Ignition interlock devices are small DUI breath test instruments that are installed in the dashboard of a vehicle to prevent someone from operating unless they have a low alcohol reading. These IIDs have become popular as a California DUI penalty. If a judge orders someone to install one, they must have it professionally installed and in every car that they own and drive. Before starting the car, they must blow into it and provide a sample. If the sample isn’t alcohol free then the car will not start. Random samples while driving may be requested where you have just six minutes to give a sample. If you fail, the fail will be logged on your court report. If you have been charged with a DUI and have been required to install an ignition interlock device, it’s time to seek the knowledge of a California DUI attorney such as David Leicht.
What to know about IIDs
The average cost of a California IID is about $2.50 daily. Installation is an additional cost, usually $75-$100. Drivers may also be required to pay fees for maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. Under California’s mandatory IID pilot program law, if you can’t afford the cost of the mandatory device, you will be required to only pay a part of it.
Contact a DUI Attorney in San Bernardino County For Questions
A DUI attorney in California such as David Leicht will understand all regulations and laws pertaining to ignition interlock devices including how to use them, the requirements of installing them and how long you will be required to have them installed. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI and needs legal representation, call his California legal office for more information at 760-256-3104 today.